The vineyard

Location

Marie Demets Champagne is located in the Côte des Bar, in Aube, in the south of the Champagne AOC (PDO - Protected Denomination of Origin) region. The village of Gyé sur Seine is located in the Seine Valley and has 226 hectares of vineyards.

Vineyard

The farm has 10 hectares of vines spread over the villages of Gyé sur Seine, Neuville sur Seine and Courteron. The 14 parcels of land that make up the vineyard have varying soils and exposures that produce a variety of flavours that give each wine its own identity. 30% of the vineyards are planted with Chardonnay vines (white grapes) that bring finesse, elegance, and freshness to our Champagnes. The remainder is planted with Pinot Noir (a black grape with white juice) that give our wines roundness and strength.

Winemaking

After being harvested by hand, the grapes are pressed as soon as they reach the pressing centre to preserve the maximum flavour and aroma. Blending the wines allows us to give each vintage its character and preserve its identity from one year to another. Our wines are kept for between 15 months and several years.

L'exploitation

Situation géographique

Le Champagne Marie Demets est situé dans la Côte des Bar qui est dans l'Aube au Sud de l'AOC Champagne. Le village de Gyé sur Seine est localisé le long de la Vallée de la Seine et compte 226 hectares de vigne.

Vignoble

L'exploitation compte 10 hectares de vigne répartis sur les villages de Gyé sur Seine, Neuville sur Seine et Courteron. Les 14 parcelles composant le vignoble nous offrent avec leurs expositions et leurs sols différents un éventail d'arômes qui donneront à chaque cuvée une identité propre. 30% des vignes sont plantées avec du Chardonnay (raisin blanc), cépage qui apportera finesse, élégance et fraîcheur à nos Champagnes. Le reste est planté en Pinot Noir (raisin noir à jus blanc) qui donnera de la rondeur et de la puissance aux vins.

Vinification

Après une vendange cueillie à la main, les raisins sont pressurés dès leur arrivée au centre de pressurage pour préserver un maximum les arômes. L'assemblage des vins nous permet de donner à chaque cuvée son caractère et de conserver son identité d'une année à l'autre. Nos vins sont conservés de 15 mois à plusieurs années.